The Awards

In addition to its primary commitment to showcase the new Italian cinema abroad, Nice has also been promoting, over the past twenty years, the City of Florence, the Region of Tuscany, its territory and culture, supporting not only tourism but cultural and productive exchange. This happens every year through the screening of films produced or shot in Tuscany (often international premieres), the circulation of promotional material through all our traditional communication channel and, most importantly, through the presentation of the “N.I.C.E. City of Florence  Award" to the winning film of the US festival. The award, assigned by the American audience (mostly young film professionals and students of film and Italian language) through voting ballots, has the aim to draw the national and international attention to quality and independent films, which nonetheless don’t easily find their natural place into the Italian movie theaters.

The award ceremony takes place at the Cinema La Compagnia in Florence during a special gala evening attended by both the audience and the national press.

The 2017  “N.I.C.E. City of Florence Award" was assigned to Fabio Mollo for his There is a Light

This year, for the first time, it has been also assigned the Award for the Best film - Jury of the students schools of Tuscany. In Partnerschip with the Municipality of Florence and Agis Toscana, N.I.C.E. involved five High Schools in choosing, among the 7 movies selected for USA, the one that the students considered the best according to their point of view.
The film that has been awarded is again There is a Light by Fabio Mollo. 

N.I.C.E. Città di Firenze Award:

2016 They Call Me Jeeg by Gabriele Mainetti

2015 : Mediterranea by Jonas Carpignano

2014 : The Medicine Seller by Antonio Morabito

Award for the Best film - Jury of the students schools of Tuscany:
The Art of Happiness by Alessandro Rak

2013 : Out of the Blue by Edoardo Leo

2012 - 2013 : Shun Li and the Poet di Andrea Segre

2011 - 2012  : The first Assignment by Giorgia Cecere
Susan Batson Award :
Isabella Ragonese & Lorenzo Balducci

2010 – 2011 :
18 Years Later by Edoardo Leo  
Susan Batson Award:
Eugenia Costantini & Alessandro Sperduti

2009 – 2010 : Sea Purple by Donatella Maiorca

Susan Batson Award: Valeria Solarino

Short Award : Univers Paralits by Tommaso Volpi  

2008 – 2009 : Lessons in Chocolate by Claudio Cupellini

2007 – 2008 : The Ball by Claudio Antonini
Short Award : Just Five Minutes by Filippo Soldi

2006 – 2007 : What the Hell Am I Doing Here! by Francesco Amato
Short Award : The Shoes by Andrea Rovetta

2005 – 2006 : Unnatural by Alessandro Tofanelli
Short Award : Who? by Enrico Vecchi

2004 – 2005 : Runaway by Andrea Manni
Short Award : 2 pm: Dead Calm by Marco Pontecorvo

2003 – 2004 : I Am Emma by Francesco Falaschi
Short Award : In tram by Filippo Soldi

2002 – 2003 : Let’s Have the Truth about Love by Francesco Apolloni
Short Award : Blind Date Digital Style by Herbert Simone Paragnani

2001 – 2002 : Rebels by Chance by Vincenzo Terracciano
Short Award : The Declaration by Paolo Genovese e Luca Miniero

2000 – 2001 : An Affair of Love by Gianluca Maria Tavarelli
Short Award : Trails by Max Campagnani

1999 – 2000 : In the Beginning there was Underwear by Anna Negri
Short Award : Forever by Chiara Caselli

1998 – 1999 : Belleville by Marco Turco
Short Award : Pause by Michele De Virgilio e Nicola Scorza

1997 – 1998 : Pizzicata by Edoardo Winspeare
Short Award : Almost Nothing by Ursula Ferrara

1996 – 1997: Pianese Nunzio: 14 in May by Antonio Capuano
Short Award : Goodbye Darling by Lorenzo Mieli e Francesco Villa

1995 – 1996 : Strange Stories by Sandro Baldoni
Short Award : Clinically Smith by Matteo Pellegrini

1994 – 1995 : Like Two Crocodiles by Giacomo Campiotti

1993 – 1994 : Manila Paloma Bianca by Daniele Segre

1992 – 1993 : Death of a Neapolitan Mathematician by Mario Martone